Overview    |   Hematopoietic, Bone Marrow, Cord Blood    |   Mesenchymal    |   Cardiac    |   Neural    |   Epithelial    |   Pluripotential    |   Tissue Engineering    |   Genomics, Epigenetics, Noncoding RNAs    |   Regeneration    |   Cancer    |   Imaging   |   Germ Line Stem Cell

Imaging stem cells

One of the long term goals of our research is to understand how stem cells interact with their immediate microenvironment or “niche”. For example, do they make special contacts with neighboring cells and do they divide with different orientations under different conditions (asymmetric versus symmetric divisions)? How are blood vessels organized in relations to stem cells in organs? We also need to understand how progeny that become committed to differentiate remove themselves from the influence of the niche and move to new locations to achieve their normal function. One way of studying these processes is to image stem cells and their progeny inside living tissues or in artificial environments designed to mimic their normal niche. This strategy is being extended to observe living cells over hours or days using high resolution, time-lapse confocal microscopy. Two well-equipped imaging facilities with full time directors are available for helping Program members achieve these goals and several members have their own confocal or spinning disc microscopes.

Blanche Capel, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC; Durham, NC  27710
Phone: 919-684-6390
email: b.capel@cellbio.duke.edu
Website

Marc Caron, Ph.D.
Cell Biology
Duke Box 3287
CARL Building - Room 487
Durham, NC 27710
Phone: 919 684 5433
E-mail: marc.caron@duke.edu
Website

Brigid Hogan, Ph.D., FRS
Professor and Chair of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC; Durham, NC  27710
Phone: 919-684-8085
E-mail: brigid.hogan@duke.edu
Website

Chay Kuo, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC
Phone: 684-4612
E-mail: c.kuo@cellbio.duke.edu
Website

Terry Lechler, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC, Durham NC 27710
Phone: 919-684-4550
E-mail: t.lechler@cellbio.duke.edu
Website
Jennifer Moss PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Endocrine Division and DMPI
Box 104775 DUMC, Durham, NC, 27710
Phone:  919-479-2379
E-mail: jennifer.b.moss@dm.duke.edu
Website
Larry Moss
Associate Professor of Medicine
Endocrine Division and DMPI
Box 104775 DUMC, Durham, NC, 27710
Phone: 919-479-2310
E-mail: larry.moss@dm.duke.edu
Website
Ken Poss, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Cell Biology
Box 3709, DUMC, Durham, NC  27710
Phone: 919-681-8457
E-mail: Kenneth.poss@duke.edu
Website
Debra Silver, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Duke University Medical Center
Phone: 919-668-7909
E-mail: Debra.slver@duke.edu
Website
Dorothy Sipkins, M.D, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Hematologic Malignancies and Cellular Therapy
Box 3961, DUMC, Durham, NC, 27710
Phone: 919-613-5010
Email: Dorothy.sipkins@dm.duke.edu